Chicago Reflections

DSC_0442

I love looking at and capturing reflections on my camera. I see beauty in trees, buildings and animals reflected in lakes, rivers and ponds. It forces to me to slow down, to enjoy the moment and to reflect a bit myself.

Using reflections in photos can alter an image, transforming and making it  richer and more abstract.

But, in an urban setting I sometimes get so immersed in the cacophony of street life, car and bus horns blaring, shop windows crying for a look, street performers, interesting passersby—that I forget to look at the buildings, especially up. Often the reflections are truly artistic and worth remembering.DSC_0447

I could get a little zen and ask: what am I reflecting outwardly—beauty like these glass towers? Do I take what is around me and give back images of interest and pleasure?

Mostly I simply enjoy.

DSC_0457

This entry was posted in Chicago, Will you look at this? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chicago Reflections

  1. Lyle says:

    You truly have an eye for photography. The top photo is stunning. Of course, you know I love the idea of reflections on glass box buildings… Mostly, the reflection is the only redeeming quality of that architecture. And you have captured a Missoni-like pattern/texture that is visually very interesting. Love the colors too.

  2. KATHY PLEUNE says:

    Beautiful photos, Susan! You truly have an eye! The top one really caught my eye! Great colors.

  3. Amanda Hungerford says:

    I like it!

  4. smithsj says:

    Thank you for your comments and for visiting Design Destinations.

Leave a Reply

